Return to VNFAWING.com Website Return to Main Forum Index PageReturn to VNFAWING.com Website
:: Forum Index :: Zephyrnet Forums :: FAQ :: Search :: Memberlist :: Groups :: Register :: Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in ::
Joystick and FA Issues
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    VNFAWING.com Forum Index -> FAF General Support Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
feeltheheat

Nugget
 

Rank: Nugget

Joined: 19 Jan 2005

Posts: 8

Post subject: Joystick and FA Issues Reply with quote
I know I've seen posts on this topic in other FA sites but none of the answers given handle the problem: I have Windows XP, Logitech Wingman and Sidewinder Pro. For some reason when running FA, Jane's doesn't recognize that I have a joystick and I cannot change to joystick setting. I changed the refresh rate and other things but to no avail. If you have any data that could help me, please let me know. Thanks!


keyboard hell,

Feeltheheat-120th
Crying or Very sad
PostTue Feb 1 19:53:00 2005
View user's profile Send private message
CAG Hotshot

Admin, Site Owner, Developer, Webmaster
 

Rank: Admin, Site Owner, Developer, Webmaster

Joined: 12 Aug 2004

Posts: 16081

Post subject: Reply with quote
Can you see the stick in the windows control panel under game controllers and calibrate it? When was the last time you updated the drivers for the sticks? You may have old Win98 drivers installed that are incompatible with XP,

This may be it, but I am only guessing... I think Tank or Kap may be better equipped to answer this one...

Also what version of XP do you have installed and is the stick connected via a game controller port or a usb port?


CAG out...
_________________
CAG Hotshot
"FAF Shape Meister"
Forum Administrator
FAF/FA-2 Design team
TSH Member/Developer

-------- __@
----- _`\<,_
---- (*)/ (*)
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~



PostTue Feb 1 20:00:08 2005
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
kaptor

Developer/Moderator
 

Rank: Developer/Moderator

Joined: 14 Aug 2004

Posts: 2638

Post subject: Reply with quote
I have only had this problem a few times and restarting FA or re-booting always fixxes it for me, but I know others have had problems.
_________________
FAF/FA-2 FM Wizard

"Oh the horror of the seven engine approach"

Missouri Flag


Half man, half machine, half timebomb.....
PostTue Feb 1 23:43:47 2005
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger ICQ Number
CAG Hotshot

Admin, Site Owner, Developer, Webmaster
 

Rank: Admin, Site Owner, Developer, Webmaster

Joined: 12 Aug 2004

Posts: 16081

Post subject: Reply with quote
The problems I experienced with the Saiteks is they kept losing their profiles and failing to work after reboot...

But I have had no experience with these two other sticks he mentioned above...


CAG out...
_________________
CAG Hotshot
"FAF Shape Meister"
Forum Administrator
FAF/FA-2 Design team
TSH Member/Developer

-------- __@
----- _`\<,_
---- (*)/ (*)
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~



PostTue Feb 1 23:47:37 2005
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
feeltheheat

Nugget
 

Rank: Nugget

Joined: 19 Jan 2005

Posts: 8

Post subject: I have XP Pro Version 10.0.4330.0 Reply with quote
I don't have the service pack II installed. My logitech wingman has the latest
drivers for XP too. Thanks.

feeltheheat-120th
PostFri Feb 4 0:37:58 2005
View user's profile Send private message
Tank_77th

Senior Moderator
 

Rank: Senior Moderator

Joined: 15 Aug 2004

Posts: 134

Post subject: Reply with quote
The missing service pack cannot be the reason for the Joystick not being recognised. As long as the desired Joystick shows up as the as the primary one in Windows it should work in FA.

Maybe your control is set to Keyboard by default in FA and your EA.CFG is write protected. That way it wont let you use your joystick in game even if it is recognised by Windows. Have you checked that?
_________________
PostFri Feb 4 2:32:53 2005
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
CAG Hotshot

Admin, Site Owner, Developer, Webmaster
 

Rank: Admin, Site Owner, Developer, Webmaster

Joined: 12 Aug 2004

Posts: 16081

Post subject: Reply with quote
Are his joysticks USB or game port? Also it seems he skiped right over my questions about if he can calibrate his stick or not in the control panel in XP...

I just love posting for no good reason... Rolling Eyes


CAG out...
_________________
CAG Hotshot
"FAF Shape Meister"
Forum Administrator
FAF/FA-2 Design team
TSH Member/Developer

-------- __@
----- _`\<,_
---- (*)/ (*)
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~



PostFri Feb 4 23:36:58 2005
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
feeltheheat

Nugget
 

Rank: Nugget

Joined: 19 Jan 2005

Posts: 8

Post subject: Reply with quote
Windows does see the joystick and I can calibrate it. The logitech is connected via USB port. Embarassed

feeltheheat-120th
PostFri Feb 4 23:43:44 2005
View user's profile Send private message
CAG Hotshot

Admin, Site Owner, Developer, Webmaster
 

Rank: Admin, Site Owner, Developer, Webmaster

Joined: 12 Aug 2004

Posts: 16081

Post subject: Reply with quote
What about the EA.CFG file? Is it writable or protected?

Tank_77th is usually dead on in his assessments...


CAG out...
_________________
CAG Hotshot
"FAF Shape Meister"
Forum Administrator
FAF/FA-2 Design team
TSH Member/Developer

-------- __@
----- _`\<,_
---- (*)/ (*)
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~



PostSat Feb 5 0:00:14 2005
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
feeltheheat

Nugget
 

Rank: Nugget

Joined: 19 Jan 2005

Posts: 8

Post subject: Reply with quote
Well the ea.cfg must be write-protected. Everytime I move it out of the folder, it comes back. Plus, when I do remove it, the problem is still the same. I don't know how to change the ea.cfg file.

FTH-120th
PostSat Feb 5 1:17:40 2005
View user's profile Send private message
CAG Hotshot

Admin, Site Owner, Developer, Webmaster
 

Rank: Admin, Site Owner, Developer, Webmaster

Joined: 12 Aug 2004

Posts: 16081

Post subject: Reply with quote
No the game creates a new cfg file if you remove it and it doesnt create it in a write protect format, you have to set that manually, so that is definately NOT the problem...

So ...

For some reason the game doesnt see the stick, but the operating system does...

Now when you start the game and then go into a mission, do you go to the esc key menu and select controller and then tell the game which youstick and throttle you have? Is this when the game doesnt see the stick or are you expecting the game to automatically setup the stick?

Once you eliminate the cfg file you have to redo all your graphical, sound and controller settings again in the game...


CAG out...
_________________
CAG Hotshot
"FAF Shape Meister"
Forum Administrator
FAF/FA-2 Design team
TSH Member/Developer

-------- __@
----- _`\<,_
---- (*)/ (*)
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~



PostSat Feb 5 1:54:08 2005
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
feeltheheat

Nugget
 

Rank: Nugget

Joined: 19 Jan 2005

Posts: 8

Post subject: Reply with quote
That's exactly it, when i start the game and I go to the control settings to make the selection of the joystick, throttle or other settings, it doesn't allow me to change from keyboard to the settings I want. I can move the mouse over the setting but it won't change.

It's very odd because if I re-install the joystick, sometimes the guns trigger will work on the stick even though it's not selected, but only guns.

feeltheheat-120th
PostSat Feb 5 12:07:02 2005
View user's profile Send private message
kaptor

Developer/Moderator
 

Rank: Developer/Moderator

Joined: 14 Aug 2004

Posts: 2638

Post subject: Reply with quote
Have you tried running FA in "compatibility mode" for various other Windows OS's? I dont know if that will work but it looks like you are running out of options.
_________________
FAF/FA-2 FM Wizard

"Oh the horror of the seven engine approach"

Missouri Flag


Half man, half machine, half timebomb.....
PostSat Feb 5 12:35:14 2005
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger ICQ Number
kaptor

Developer/Moderator
 

Rank: Developer/Moderator

Joined: 14 Aug 2004

Posts: 2638

Post subject: Reply with quote
Bad news but maybee not the last word yet.


http://members.lycos.co.uk/zephyr106/phpbb2/viewtopic.php?t=1248
_________________
FAF/FA-2 FM Wizard

"Oh the horror of the seven engine approach"

Missouri Flag


Half man, half machine, half timebomb.....
PostSat Feb 5 12:58:34 2005
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger ICQ Number
feeltheheat

Nugget
 

Rank: Nugget

Joined: 19 Jan 2005

Posts: 8

Post subject: Reply with quote
Back again. Thanks for everyone's input so far. yeah I have the compatability version set on win 98. I've seen that post and thread. Unfortuneatley I don't have my original copy Win XP so I can'r reformat and re-install. Crying or Very sad

feeltheheat-120th
PostSat Feb 5 13:31:43 2005
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    VNFAWING.com Forum Index -> FAF General Support Forum All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics
You cannot reply to topics
You cannot edit your posts
You cannot delete your posts
You cannot vote in polls




VNFAWING Flight Sim Development Center,Inc. - VNFAWING.comô

Powered by phpBB © 2001 - phpBB Group